Wise Words

Hit the Ground Running

I have always had a strong passion for running. As a child, I would run around the conjoined back yard we had at our apartment for long periods of time. My dad told me I would go outside and start running in circles on the pavement and not have a care in the world. You could say that’s something I was not thinking about and just got up and decided to do, because it was. I decided to just go for it.

“I decided to just go for it.” 

Now as an adult, I struggle sometimes with finding time for running. Unlike my carefree childhood, it’s not as easy to make the time. But I do forget how easy it is to just get up and go run. Some days, I either run for a short period of time or for as long as I can handle. I appreciate looking back and being able to hear stories of what I used to do because it is still encouraging. I’ve decided that I have never been a sit down and chill out person. I am always on the go and looking for activities.

Running is an outlet for me. Running is something I do frequently to think and to let anger, sadness or anything troubling me out of my mind. Running provides freedom to get out into the fresh air and run. Where I run, depending on the weather, can sometimes change. Some days I run the neighborhood to get in a quick sweat and workout. Other times I run at a certain place like a park or the dam.

Here is my question for you! Do you ever get out and run?

 It’s not like running is easy. Now hear me out: running can be a struggle especially when I should get out of my piggy pajamas, especially if I have had a bad day or am in one of those “moods.” But when I get up and go, I feel like a new person. It’s like I woke up one day and was in Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory and was offered all the chocolate in the world. But, we’re talking about running here, so let me take a step back.

It’s time to hit the ground running!

Make a list and write out all the places you’d like to see and could potentially go to run. It’s refreshing to get out and open your lungs to the fresh air that’s provided to us. You will sleep better, you will feel better and you will see a huge difference in your body and how you feel overall.

Get motivated and ask your friends to go with you. Unless you like running alone, get a group of people and start out slow.

Running helps me. Every time I go, I know I made the right choice and pushed myself. Now let’s see you do it!

Visit my running stretches before you hit the ground!

Check out my running shoes!

2 thoughts on “Hit the Ground Running

  1. Love this encouragement, love the name of the article “Hit the Ground Running”, and especially love the visual of your little girl self running around in a circles outside your apartment….great job, Alexa!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment